In this section, we will learn how to manage users of your portal and the departments and groups they belong to.


Getting Started

When you enroll for the first time on your CyberRiskAware portal you are added as the first user on your portal. 

Therefore, you are an administrator added to a system generated "default department". 

The administrator account and other future users may belong to your defined groups and departments.


Groups Vs Departments

Department. A department represents a company section or department. e.g. IT Support, HR, Sales etc. 

Note: A user can only be a member of one department at any given time.


Group. A Group is a virtual grouping of users. This may be used to group users who are not necessarily in the same department. E.g. high risk or baseline groups etc. 

Note: A user may be a member of multiple groups.


User maintenance methods

CyberRiskAware provides three methods of user and group maintenance.

1. Manual Maintenance.

2. Bulk Upload (using CSV).

3. Active Directory Synchronisation.


User Maintenance Menu

User Manager

    - Organisation Users

    - Departments & Groups

    - Bulk user import




Manual Maintenance

User Maintenance

On your CRA dashboard a menu item called “User Manager” exists. Select the "Organisation Users" submenu item. Here you may add the new user details including 

  • email address
  • First Name
  • Surname
  • isAdmin (This allows you to make a new user an administrator of your portal and provide the user with the same access to the portal as the administrator)
  • Department (Adds the new user to a Department or Group created by an administrator of the portal) 
  • Country (Country of residence)
  • Default Locale (Language)

Select "Save User" to complete.


Departments and Groups Maintenance

On your CRA dashboard a menu item called “User Manager” exists. Select the “Departments and Groups” sub-menu item. You are presented with a list of current Organisation Departments and groups.


Note: “Default Department” is the first department created on your CRA Portal.


By selecting the button “Create a new organization group” you will be presented with the Create Organisation Group Form. Simply enter the Group name, Group Description and add users to the group (if required) by selecting the users in the Organisation users List.


By selecting a user in the “Organisation Users” List it will be added to the “Selected Group Users” List. 

To remove users from this Group/Department simply select a user in the “Selected Group Users” and it will be moved to the “Organisation Users” List.

Note: The “IsDepartment” option box is ticked by default. Therefore a new Group is by default made a Department unless deselected.

To save the new Department or Group simply select the “Save organization group” button.



View, Edit, Delete & Deactivate.

To View, Edit or Delete any item (including Users, Departments, and Groups) on the CyberRiskAware Platform, use the following icons found on any item list.


 

View Icon


To Deactivate a user on the CyberRiskAware Platform, use the View Icon. This will display the user details and from there you will be able to select the deactivate button.




Edit Icon



Delete Icon - This can be used to delete Groups, IF they are not associated with any campaigns. 



Bulk Upload (using CSV)

Creating The Bulk User Upload File


To aid in the initial setup of a large number of users and their respective departments the facility to bulk upload a list of users is available. This facility may also be used to add a one or many users after the initial setup.

To execute this facility you must first create a bulk upload .csv (Comma Delimited File). E.g. users.csv.

The format for this file is as follows:

CSV Format: Email,FirstName,SurName,Department,Country,Language
Example record:
sarah.doe@mycompany.com,Sarah,Doe,HR,France,French






Uploading The Bulk User Upload File


On your CRA Dashboard a menu item called “User Manager” exists. Select the “Bulk user import” sub-menu item. 

You are now presented with the Bulk User Upload Form.


Select the “Choose File” button and navigate through your directory structure to the location of your Bulk Upload CSV File. 


Select the "Upload" button and the results of this import will appear in the Import Results Table.

Note: 

  • If the Bulk Upload file is incorrectly formatted the bulk upload will fail.
  • If a user already exists in the system the bulk loader will notify you thus.
  • If an email address in the list does not exist the bulk loader will notify you thus.


Active Directory Synchronisation

This is a scheduled server task that synchronises the users between your active directory structure and the Cyber Risk Aware portal. 

We support synchronisation using Azure AD, On Premise AD, Okta or People HR. 

More information can be found here.




Previous Step: How to use the CRA dashboard             Next Step: How to create a phishing campaign